powered by CADENAS

Manual

Manual

1.7.1.4.4. Additional functions in $CADEANS_DEFAULTUSER

In the directory $CADENAS_DEFAULTUSER, there are some particularities regarding the displayed context menu commands in compare to the other directories.

The directory $CADENAS_DEFAULTUSER contains the same configuration files as $CADENAS_USER. The intention of the double listing is that personal settings can be made under $CADENAS_USER independently of the default settings under $CADENAS_DEFAULTUSER.

[Note] Note

As long as files under $CADENAS_USER are identical with the ones under $CADENAS_DEFAULTUSER, they do not physically exist and are only displayed in PARTadmin (Overlay).

Files changes by user are physically saved under $CADENAS_USER, however, only those keys, which contain differences compared with the state under $CADENAS_DEFAULTUSER.

On this please see below under Context menu commands on file level.

By administration, it can be set whether personal settings shall be overwritten by the default settings (see command Overwrite always). By default, this is not the case.

Performing a context menu command in $CADENAS_DEFAULTUSER results in an action in $CADENAS_USER. The action will only take effect when saving and restarting the target application.

In the following the context menu commands are described on key, block and file level:

  1. Context menu commands on key level:

    Select a key line and call the context menu.

    • Overwrite never (default): Green background color

      The key value in $CADENAS_USER is not overwritten.

    • Overwrite always: Yellow background color

      The key value in $CADENAS_USER is overwritten at each restart of the application.

    • Delete: Red background color

      The key in $CADENAS_USER becomes deactivated .

    [Note] Note

    The activated option is identified by a checkmark.

  2. Context menu commands on block level:

    Select a block and call the context menu.

    • Merge

      Same blocks from $CADENAS_DEFAULTUSER and $CADENAS_USER are merged.

    • Do not merge

      Same blocks from $CADENAS_DEFAULTUSER and $CADENAS_USER are not merged.

    • Overwrite

      Same blocks from $CADENAS_DEFAULTUSER and $CADENAS_USER are completely overwritten.

    [Note] Note

    The activated option is identified by a checkmark.

  3. Context menu commands on file level: The activated option shows a checkmark.

    Context menu commands on file level

    Context menu commands on file level

    • Use overlay (Default):

      [Note] Note

      As long as files under $CADENAS_USER are identical with the ones under $CADENAS_DEFAULTUSER, they do not physically exist and are only displayed in PARTadmin (Overlay).

      Files changes by user are physically saved under $CADENAS_USER, however, only those keys, which contain differences compared with the state under $CADENAS_DEFAULTUSER.

      Following example will clarify the situation using the configuration file classificationwizard.cfg:

      1. Initial situation in PARTadmin:

        Under $CADENAS_USER the configuration file classificationwizard.cfg is displayed.

        Initial situation on file level:

        The file in User directory is not displayed, because there are no differences in compare to the same-named file under $DEFAULT_USER.

        [Note] Note

        In versions <= V11 SP4 all files under "User" and "Default-User" were displayed in parallel.

        classificationwizard.cfg does not exist on file level

        classificationwizard.cfg does not exist on file level

      2. Now in PARTadmin, the value of the key System is changed.

        -> The change is signalized by bold font.

      3. Click on Save .

        -> Bold font disappears.

      4. Now open the User directory on file level.

        -> Only now the changed config is displayed.

      5. Open the config file.

        [Note] Note

        Only changes are displayed.

        Only the changed key is contained in the configuration file

        Only the changed key is contained in the configuration file

    • Merge always:

      Same files from $CADENAS_DEFAULTUSER and $CADENAS_USER are merged.

      However, the keys, which are only located in the user directory, remain unchanged.

    • Merge newer:

      Same files from $CADENAS_DEFAULTUSER and $CADENAS_USER are merged.

      Those keys which are only located in the user directory, or have a more recent date, remain unchanged however.

    • Copy always:

      The default file replaces the "own" file in the user directory.

      In other words, the user cannot add or change anything.

    • Copy newer:

      For changes by the administrators, the file is copied. It may then be changed by the user.

    [Note] Note

    The activated option is identified by a checkmark.